Web_logo_whitebkg jpeg

Voyages of Love and Loss

Mark Padmore (tenor) | Britten Sinfonia

Friday 16 July 2021, 7.30pm  | Centenary Methodist Church, Boston


Oboe Quartet in F major


Jon Paul Mayse

Voyage of the Mayflower* (world premiere)



Trio for Flute, Violin and Viola in D major


Peter Warlock

The Curlew


*commissioned by Lincolnshire International Chamber Music Festival


£15; restricted view £10

£5 students, under 16s and JSA

Tickets must be booked in advance online


The heart of LICMF's Summer Festival takes place in Boston, where pilgrims gathered to make their life-changing decision to leave England seeking religious freedom in Holland, ultimately sailing to the New World. Four-hundred-and-one years later, we commemorate this event with a specially commissioned work entitled Voyage of the Mayflower by American composer, Jon Paul Mayse, who has set a new text by American poet, Peter Wolrich. Artist-in-Residence, Mark Padmore together with one of Britain’s most loved ensembles, Britten Sinfonia, gives the work its world premiere. As well as favourites by Mozart and Beethoven, audiences will have the chance to experience a not-so-frequent outing of Warlock’s The Curlew - one of the most powerfully striking compositions in the English musical timeline.


Programme notes are available below, and you are welcome to print them out, or bring a device (on airplane mode) into the hall with you. 

Venue information

Centenary Methodist Church

Red Lion Street



PE21 6NY


Venue website

Mark Padmore013 311x311 017 colour hi-res - Britten Sinfonia 17 Jan 2019 s LICMF Programme